Tuesday night, the 2019 National Baseball Hall of Fame class will be unveiled. More than 400 ballots have been submitted by veterans of the American Association of Baseball Writers in recent weeks. A player must appear on 75% of these ballots to be inducted into Cooperstown and 5% to remain on the ballot for an additional year.

Here's how you can watch the announcement of Hall of Fame 2019:

  • Date: Tuesday January 22nd
  • Time: 18h ET
  • Television: MLB Network
  • Diffusion: MLB.com

Last year, Vladimir Guerrero, Trevor Hoffman, Chipper Jones and Jim Thome were elected to the Hall of Fame by BBWAA. The BBWAA has elected at least two players to the Hall of Fame each year since 2014. Here's all you need to know about this year's Hall of Fame announcement.

MLB: Baseball Hall of Fame - Legendary Parade

The 2019 class of the Hall of Fame will be announced on January 22nd.


Voting criteria are vague

BBWAA members who have been active for at least 10 years can vote for the Hall of Fame. Here are the voting instructions directly from the Hall of Fame website:

The vote must be based on the player's record, ability to play, integrity, fair play, character and contributions to the team (s) played.

It's pretty vague and I guess it's intentional. The Hall of Fame standard is very subject to interpretation. Some voters exclude for example players with links to drugs improving their performance. Others will not vote for a designated hitter or relief pitcher. This is the criterion however. How to apply depends on the elector.

This year's ballot has 35 players.

This year's Hall of Fame ballot features 15 candidates from last year and 20 novice players, giving us a total of 35 Hall of Fame players. Here are the 35. To be eligible for the Hall of Fame, a player must have played at least 10 full seasons in the major leagues and have retired for five years. They must also go through a selection committee to appear on the ballot.

In addition, a player can only spend 10 years on the ballot of the BBWAA Hall of Fame. He was once 15 years old. This was shortened a few years ago. Sluggers Fred McGriff and Edgar Martinez are both on the Hall of Fame ballot for the tenth and final time this year. Larry Walker is in his ninth season of eligibility for the Hall of Fame.

Mariano Rivera is a lock for induction

The only slam dunk, no doubt about it for the Hall of Fame inducement this year is the long-time Yankees, close to Mariano Rivera. According to publicly released ballots and followed by Ryan Thibodaux, Rivera is currently voting 100%. He was named on every ballot. That should not last – no player has ever been unanimously elected to the Hall of Fame – but the fact that Rivera has received such overwhelming support indicates that he is about to lock in his integration as much as possible.

Three others exceed the 75% threshold

At the time of writing these lines, Roy Halladay, Edgar Martinez and Mike Mussina were conducting surveys north of the threshold of 75 required for induction, according to Thibodaux 's tracker. Halladay is in his first year of Hall of Fame, Martinez is in his final year and Mussina is in his sixth year. In addition, Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens and Curt Schilling are a few percentage points below the 75% threshold and could reach 75% as more ballots are revealed.

That said, non-public ballots historically result in a decrease in each player's voting percentage. It seems that voters who refuse to make their vote public apply the highest standards of the Hall of Fame. Rivera is a lock and Halladay and Martinez seem to be in great shape for induction. Mussina will be a closer call. Bonds, Clemens and Schilling are almost all safe from induction

Baines and Smith are already in

We already know two members of the Hall of Fame 2019 class: Harold Baines and Lee Smith. Baines and Smith were elected to Cooperstown by the match committee from today earlier this winter. The Hall of Fame replaced the former Veterans Committee with four "old" committees a few years ago. These are the four new committees and the years they cover:

  • Game today (1988 to present): Then meets in 2021.
  • Modern era (1970-1987): Meet again in 2019.
  • Days of gold (1950-1969): Meet the next in 2020.
  • Beginning of baseball (1887-1949): Meet the next in 2020.

Each committee is comprised of a panel of 16 people comprised of Hall of Fame members, baseball executives and historians. Smith received 16 votes and was unanimously selected. Baines received 12 votes, the minimum necessary for initiation. He and Smith will join Rivera and other members of the 2019 Hall of Fame class at the Induction Weekend later this year.

The weekend of initiation is in July

July 19th and 20th at Cooperstown, NY, to be exact. Each year, during the Induction Weekend, Hall of Fame members gather at Cooperstown to welcome new members. Fans also go to Cooperstown to attend the ceremony and hear the speeches. With Rivera a certainty of being elected this year, I imagine that Cooperstown will be packed with Yankees fans this July weekend.